Posted by: sallylang | July 2, 2010

Silly Craze!

If you haven’t noticed the rainbow of bracelets on kids’ arms lately, you must live under a rock (or you don’t have any cool 10 year old friends). Those little bracelets are called Silly Bandz and they are the new trend among kids in elementary and middle school. Kids wear so many in fact that they go all the way up past their elbows at times. Each one is a different shape, like an dog or a star.

I actually received something like these three years ago when I was going into my freshman year of college. My mom sent them to me in a care package but they weren’t bracelets, they were rubber bands. They were shaped like animals and I thought they were awesome, but I just used them as rubber bands. I can only assume that someone saw me with one and thought. “Wow, this girl is cool. If she has rubber bands shaped like ducks I bet everyone will want them! And I’ll make them bracelets and market them to little kids!” That’s probably how it went down.

Anyways, what I really like about this product, marketing wise, is how the Hallmark store has used them. Now I don’t know about you, but I don’t know a lot of kids who beg there parents to take them to the Hallmark store. You may be the lucky parent of a greeting card loving child, but for the most part they tend to shop elsewhere. However, the Hallmark store has started selling Silly Bandz and have even put out big signs that say “Silly Bandz sold here”. I remember back in the day when they sold TY Beanie Babies. I had quite a few of those suckers and I bought most of them at Hallmark. I think it’s great if they sell trendy things to kids. I’m a big fan of the store so whatever they do to stay relevant is fine by me.

Oh, and if you happen to come across a glow in the dark giraffe bracelet, let me know. I don’t collect them but I couldn’t pass up one that combined my favorite color and animal!

photos from The Toy Book and Silly Bandz

Share this post:

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : Digg it : Stumble It! : : post to facebook

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

